President's Letter

September 4, 2019

Dear Members and Friends of NYABE,

On behalf of the New York chapter of the National Association for Business Economics I welcome you to join us for an exciting 2019-2020 program year. The annual season for NYABE begins in September and goes through the following June and features monthly luncheons in Midtown Manhattan with some of the world's outstanding economists as speakers.

There has never been a more challenging or exciting time to be practicing our craft in the private sector and at educational, governmental, and not-for-profit organizations. The NYABE strives to attract top notch speakers to address key issues of our time and provide a venue for open dialogue and discussion. We welcome accomplished members of the profession, as well as those just getting started and aspiring students.

We are committed to delivering cutting edge events this season. We will welcome Martin Fleming, Chief Economist and Chief Analytics Officer at IBM to present his thoughts on developments and prospects for digital currencies on Friday, September 20. On October 24 we will welcome David Wilcox, former Research Director at the Federal Reserve Board, Assistant Treasury Secretary and current Senior Fellow at the Peterson Institute.

Starting with former Fed Chairman Paul Volcker in 1973, the William F. Butler Award has been presented annually to a distinguished business economist to honor their leadership in the field of business economics. Other prior recipients include Carmen Reinhart, Olivier Blanchard, Don Kohn, Paul Krugman, Martin Feldstein and Alice Rivlin. This year we are honored to present the Butler award on November 26 to Lael Brainard, current Governor at the Federal Reserve Board, former Undersecretary of the Treasury and professor at MIT Sloan School of Management.

You can find additional information about and register for these events, as well as peruse past speakers on our website Please take a moment to consider membership and join us for this year's exciting program.


Julia Coronado

President, 2019-20

New York Association for Business Economics