home membership calendar meetingpics awards login officers contact us

New York Association for Business Economics

Executive Committee

Charles Himmelberg
Goldman Sachs

First Vice President
Ellen Zentner
Morgan Stanley

Second Vice President
Gregory Daco
Oxford Economics

Mark Lieberman

Carol Zytnik

Membership Director
Madhavi Bokil

Leadership Advisor
Parul Jain
MacroFin Analytics LLC

Mailing Address
PO Box 1720
Church St Station
New York, NY 10008-1720

To Register for our next meeting click here or
visit our calendar to get more details on our events.

Welcome to the website of the New York Chapter of the National Association for Business Economics (NABE).

Nov. 4, 2014

President's Letter

On behalf of the leadership of New York Association of Business Economists (NYABE), I invite you to participate in what promises to be an enjoyable and intellectually stimulating series of luncheons. These luncheons offer opportunities to interact with thought leaders in the fields of industry, policy, finance, and academia while networking with your peers in the NY Metropolitan Area.

The dates for this year's schedule are not fully set, but we have a number of speakers lined up including:

  • This year's recipient of the William F. Butler Award, The Honorable Timothy F. Geithner, former President of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York and Secretary of the United States Treasury. (Dec. 4, 2014 at the Harvard Club)

  • Our 2015 Economic Outlook Roundtable, featuring Jens Nordvig, Managing Director and Head of Fixed Income Research, Americas and Global Head of G10 FX Strategy at Nomura Securities, Mark Zandi, Chief Economist for Moody's Analytics, and Chris Varvares, Senior Managing Director and Co-founder, Macroeconomic Advisers, LLC (January 23, 2015 at the Canadian Consulate General)

  • The 2015 Outlook for Oil and the Commodities Super-Cycle, featuring Jeff Currie, Managing Director and Chief Commodity Strategist at Goldman Sachs

  • Glenn Hubbard, Dean of Columbia Business School, former Chairman of the U.S. Council of Economic Advisers, and co-author of the recent book "Balance: The Economics of Great Powers From Ancient Rome to Modern America."

    We will send out the details for these events once it is confirmed, and for additional events as they are scheduled.

    The NYABE leadership extends its special thanks to Dana Saporta for her service as President last year. We also express our gratitude to Catherine Swahn and the Canadian Consulate General, and to Samantha Ng and Maurine Haver of Haver Analytics, for providing their time and facilities in support of NYABE.

    We encourage existing members to renew their NYABE memberships by filling out the membership form on our website. We also encourage you to advertise our events to potentially interested friends and colleagues. We also encourage those of you who are not members to please join, as your membership fee is essential to help cover the miscellaneous overhead costs of these events.

    I look forward to seeing you at our luncheons this year, and welcome your suggestions for others.


    Charlie Himmelberg
    NYABE President, 2014-15


    Home | Membership | Calendar | Meeting Pictures | Awards | Executive Login | Officers | Contact Us